SECURITY TO THE CORE

Google Now Warns Users about Hacked and Compromised Websites !!


Google Warning

With the number of websites, blogs and portals growing every day, there is an overwhelming amount of news everyday, talking about data theft and websites that have been invaded by hackers and crackers. The latest news of this kind was the invasion of the popular blog Gawker Media, which resulted in the exposure of entire database of Gawker Media’s web properties.

Sensitive information has been exposed, including staff conversations, their private passwords used within the network and passwords also used by people who have registered to comment.

Thinking of a way to make web-browsing safer for users, Google added a new notification to its search system that alerts users about sites that may have been hacked or modified by unauthorized users.

How the notification works

Sites that possibly have been hacked or had its contents changed by unauthorized persons will show the message "This Site May Be Compromised" (This site may have been compromised), which can be seen just below the title displayed in Google search.

Clicking on top of that message, the user is redirected to security page of Google, more precisely to an article in the Help Center that explains more about the notice.

Meanwhile, If user choose to click on results, he’ll be redirected to the desired page, as expected. In some cases, a small warning is displayed, which will highlight the risk of continuing to the user.

Advising Webmaster & Developers

The new security mechanism from the search engine giant Google brings a lot of benefits to the website owners and developers. According to the Google, they are doing their best to contact the site’s webmaster, that were detected as suspicious or compromised via their Webmaster Tools account or any other contact email addresses which can be find on the webpage.

pirate computer

Google also provided a link to help the inexperienced webmasters who does not know how to proceed in case of cyber-attacks. Instructions can be accessed through the Help Center or through this link.

Still a lot of work to do

There are still a lot of things which Google has to work on, shore up and improve. The new Google tracking/notification service is not yet 100% operational, but the company is working as quickly as possible to make the new service fully functional, providing more security for users and site owners.

Advertisements

2 responses

  1. Puneet

    Informative article and nice initiative on part of Google to add this feature.

    December 21, 2010 at 17:48

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Google Now Warns Users about Hacked and Compromised Websites !! « Tєchno Nxt -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s